Pressures of Expectations

There’s such pressure of expectation at times. It’s been a year since your stroke. You look great. Shouldn’t you be back to normal in most things by now? Brain injury really is the Invisible Injury.

Truth is, I can feel my brain getting better. I can feel it making re-connections and adapting here and there and adjusting for this and that. But it’s slow-slow-slow-going. I fight with myself often over my anger and frustration at feeling pushed by others (who don’t always say anything, but it’s obvious that’s what they’re thinking); between that and my own trying to determine in my heart where I actually could do more or am playing “the stroke card” in my own thinking and giving up too quickly.

Looking at Jesus is the key. Being open to hearing what He’s speaking to me (even if I don’t like it) will see me through and bring me out right and keep me in the line of His peace.

Help me hear better, Lord, and not injure anyone else in the process (and frustrations) of getting better.